Campus Advisory Classes are in session remotely through the end of spring semester. Our satellite centers in Manhattan, Hudson Valley and Suffolk County are closed; however, all staff and units are accessible remotely. Adelphi's Garden City campus is operational with only essential personnel on-site. » COVID-19 Response

Coronavirus Updates on Operations: Department or campus operations may be modified during this time. Please call or email the department for more information or visit


Physics Department Faculty

Meet the individuals who are moving the field of physics forward.

The faculty of the physics department have an international reputation for scholarship, as evidenced by the research published, awards granted and fellowships earned by department members. Click on faculty names for more information about each professor’s research, experience and contact information.


Matthew Wright
Department Chair and Associate Professor
Blodgett Hall, Room 002A
p – 516.877.4843
e – 
Linda J. Rezak 
Administrative Assistant
Blodgett Hall, Room 8
p – 516.877.4880


John Dooher Gottipaty N. Rao
Martin G. Garrell Eugene Hecht

Associate Professors

Sean J. Bentley


Adjunct Faculty

Joseph Ceriello

Paul J. Dooher

Scott Gianelli

Andreas B. Karpf

Maureen K. Karpf

Patricia E. Panatier
Senior Adjunct Professor


For further information, please contact:

Department of Physics
Blodgett Hall Room 8
p – 516.877.4880

Apply Now
Request Information